St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School

'A welcoming and vibrant place in which children develop their skills well'  — Ofsted 2015

Life at St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School Life at St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School Life at St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School Life at St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School Life at St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School Life at St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School

History of our school

Records of the Education department show that there was some Catholic education in Warwick by 1876 when there was a small school with 19 pupils, housed in two cottages adjoining the church. By 1892 this seemed to have fallen out of use and a new school was needed for the Catholic children in  the parish.

In 1905 St Mary's School opened, with 66 children on the school roll and a more substantial school building was erected on the site of the two cottages. This building is now the Parish Social Centre.

In 1972 the number of children had increased substantially and the present school was built to accommodate the growing numbers. The juniors moved to the new site in 1972 and the infants followed them the following year. The school is built on the site of what were formerly the fish pools belonging to St Sepulchre Priory. Sadly little remains of the Priory, which was founded in the reign of King Henry 1.

In 1999 the school changed its name from St Mary’s RC School to St Mary Immaculate Catholic Primary School.

In 2005, as part of the school's centenary celebrations, a brief history was printed, which included stories and interviews with many past pupils. You can read this history here.